new balance shoesasics running shoesmulberry handbagsnew balancetory burch saleonitsuka tiger saleLouboutin Saledesigner bagsprada handbagstory burch shoesLouis Vuitton Outlet


Harmony of Body, Mind and Soul

Ayurveda evolved around 600 BC in India.  This system of medicine stresses on the prevention of body ailments in addition to curing them.  Today, its a unique, indispensable branch of medicine - a complete natural healing system that depends on the diagnosis of your body's humours - vata pitta and khapha - to achieve the right balance

Ayurveda believes in treatment of not just the affected part, but the individual as whole. Making it the natural way to refresh yourself, eliminate all toxic imbalances from the body and the thus regain resistance and good health. 

Kerala's equable climate, natural abundance of forests ( with a wealth of herbs and medicinal plants) and the cool mansoon season are best suited for Ayurveda's curative and restorative packages. 


There are four Vedas or treatises which form the basis of Indian Philosophy.  They being the RIGVEDA, The YAJUR VEDA, The SAMA VEDA and The ADHARVA VEDA.  Ayurveda has emerged out as the branch of Adharva Veda dates back over 5000 years.  It is said to have been originated from Lord Brahma ( creator of universe according to Indian Philosophy), and has been descanted to the earth through various generations of GODS and SAINTS. This has been handed down to us by means of ancient venerable scripts as palm leaf books, leather leaves etc.  The oldest works in Ayurveda now available  are the CHARAKA SAMHITHA, SUSRUTHA SAMHITA and ASHTANGA SAMGRAHA. 

Ayurveda is also known as ASHTANGA VEDA ( the word literally means " Eight branches of knowledge") as it is divided into eight specialized branches.  They are as follows

Kaya Chikilsa - General Medicine
Kaumara Bhrithya - Paediatrics
Graha Chikilsa - Psychiatry and Psycho Somatic diseases
Shalakya Tantra - Diseases of Eye, Ear, Head, Nose, Throat, and its surgery
Shalya Tantra - General Surgery
Agada Tantra -  Toxicology
Rasayana Chikilsa - Rejuvenation Therapy
Vajeekarana Chikilsa - Aphrodisiac Therapy

According to Ayurveda every living and non living being in this universe is a combination of five basic eternal elements, called Pancha Maha Bhoothas.  Human Body is also constituted by this five eternal elements in various compositions.  Hence it can be conceived that every cell of body is possessed with all the properties of life. The only difference of Human Body from the external World is the expression of  CHAITANYA or consciousness or life spark or spirit or soul.  The five basic eternal elements are

(A). Earth    (B). Water     (C). Fire     (D.) Air     (E).Ether

These eternal elements manifest in the Human Body as three basic principles or subtle energies or humours (Thridosha in Sanskrit) The word Dosha literally means that which maintains and controls the body.  They are Vatha, Pitha and Kapha.  The Pancha Maha Bhoothas and the Thridoshas are not prevalent to the naked eye.  But they should be conceived on comprehensive terms in which all physical structures and psychological functions of the body are included.  the Air and Ether elements combined to form the Vatha Principle.  The fire element constitutes Pitha principle.  Earth and Water elements combine to form Kapha principle.  These three basic principles govern all biological, physiological and physio - pathological functions of the body, mind and consciousness.  They act as basic constituents and protective barriers for the body in its normal physiological conditions. 

Ayurveda Yoga India Kerala Treatments Ayurvedic Resorts Ayurveda Hospitals Ayurvedic Holidays Contact Us Home